Local Cultural Connections

Last updated on June 24th, 2020

Cairns Region Traditional Owners

Traditional Owner groups - Cairns Region

Traditional Owner Contact Map

For an interactive map of Traditional Owner contact details across the Wet Tropics NRM region, click on the link below.

Traditional Owner Contact Map

Within the Cairns Region, there are 4 Traditional Owner groups, as shown in the image to the right.  See below for a brief description of each group’s connection to country or click on the links to access contact details for these groups.

  • Dawul Wuru (Yirrganydji) Aboriginal Corporation – the corporation was established to protect, secure, support and promote the rights and interests of local Aboriginal Traditional Owners in the area between Cairns and Port Douglas.
  • Djabugay – native title rights and interests have been granted to the Djabugay people over land and waters within the Barron Gorge National Park near Kuranda.
  • Gunggandji – the Gunggandji people hold native title rights over more than 7,500 ha of land on the Yarrabah Peninsula, east of Cairns.
  • Yidinji – the Yidinji tribe is comprised of 8 clans, whose traditional lands included Cairns, south to the Russell River and west to parts of the Tablelands.  Today, these clans are represented by a range of groups and corporations who manage native title and relevant cultural matters, including Gimuy Walubara YidinjiDulabed Malanbarra and YidinjiMandingalbay Yidinji and Wadjanbarra Tableland Yidinji.

A link to the Traditional Owner contact map for all groups across the Wet Tropics region is also included on the right.